On the heels of a controversial finish against PLDT, Taka Minowa and his Akari Chargers now have the Creamline Cool Smashers to worry about in the PVL Reinforced Conference Finals.
As Akari charges through its first-ever PVL Finals in the 2024 Reinforced Conference, head coach Taka Minowa is focusing on his team’s resiliency in making it to the championship round instead of sitting on things that are out of their control.
The Chargers’ five-set win over PLDT in the 2024 Reinforced Conference semifinals was marred by controversy, but as Akari preps for a Finals clash against PVL powerhouse Creamline, Minowa marvels at his team’s collective mindset.
A mindset that is built on a “never give up” attitude.
“They can change their mindset. That’s a good point for Akari,” Minowa said as the Chargers won another five-setter, their fourth such victory in 10 games leading up to the Finals.
“Some teams after losing just one set, the mindset is the same [and] it’s going to the negative. That’s a good point for Akari, that everyone can change their mindset. Past is past, so let’s focus on the next ball. That’s the most important thing for Akari,” he added.
[Related: PVL semis: Ivy Lacsina, Grethcel Soltones bare what sparked Akari`s comeback win vs. PLDT]
Still, even as the Chargers basically scored the biggest win in franchise history, a dark cloud looms over the victory, with PLDT now officially filing a complaint over the controversial net touch call late in the decisive 5th set.
In their match point, the High Speed Hitters called for a challenge as Akari middle blocker Ezra Madrigal appeared to cause a net touch after attempting to block a Mika Reyes hit.
[Related: 'Hope for the best': PLDT files official complaint with the PVL Board over controversial end to semis clash with Akari]
But following a review, the challenge was deemed unsuccessful and the point was awarded to Akari, allowing the Chargers to tie the match.
Akari then went on to win three of the next four points to seal the victory.
After the game, the PVL cited the FIVB casebook to explain why the net touch was a legal play.
[Related: PVL explains controversial unsuccessful challenge by PLDT against Akari in Reinforced Conference semis]
Minowa appears to be also aware of the rule, and even said the PVL showed video to both teams before play resumed.
“Before the announcement, they showed the video. If someone knows about volleyball rule, after landing and no touch net and the ball is going to the back side… after that if someone touches the net and the ball is already going to the back side, it’s okay na,” Minowa said.
“The official also is like ‘no problem.’ I won’t, I really won’t… not gonna make it issue, or some gossip. Because clearly, it’s no problem.”